My friend, Fatma

I haven’t been caught up in reading as much I am these days with the hunger games trio. Not actually reading as much as listening to the great audio book from audible.com.

one day, the lady who used to work with us came direct to my desk with a post-it note with the hunger games written on it. She took me by surprise and wonder when she said watch it. it was a strange gesture, in a way, and I can never read, listen and watch hunger games without remembering her.

I watched the movie first, then downloaded the audio book and pdf file of the first and second books. The quality of the audio book is remarkable that I can keep up with the listening no matter what I am doing. I sleep with the earphone in my ear, it was this good and more, when I immediately purchased the last sequel right after I finished listening to the second.

A bad habit though, is reading reviews of the book before reading it, my friend, Fatma, is the one whom I look up to when I pick books to read, has wrote her book review and rating in goodreads, and I found myself unable to stop thinking of how true her comments are.

I remember she always impressed me and her comments in our conversations keep ringing in my head years after each took a different path in life.

First time was when she came to the cafeteria when a both were college juniors and showed a good English vocabulary without showing off. She was just answering questions from the rest of us about the upcoming English class, that was the first time I admired some one and felt jealous of at the same time. I remember I took note that this girl is to not to be taken lightly.
I like Fatma and glad that I can see her active online. She is smart girl and I wish we see each other more often.


2 responses to “My friend, Fatma

  • Fatma

    My Dear Amna, you don’t know how much this post has made me happy. I have always loved and admired you and knowing your opinion of me makes me really grateful and humble. I am sad that our paths has parted and I really wish that we have stayed close. My other regret is that I didn’t discover your blog before..I read it all and I wanted to comment on and discuss many of your posts..I love your blog..don’t you ever stop posting and I promise you that I will be an avid reader.

    Regarding The Hunger Games Books, I am glad you liked them. These books have a special place in my heart because I read them when my baby was a week old..they helped me go through that difficult time in every new mother’s life..through the sleepless nights and the physical and emotional pains these books were a distraction and a haven for my tired soul.

    I don’t know if I will ever be able to listen to an audio book instead of reading it..I lose concentration easily and I think I will get distracted from listening by stupid things and then I will lose track of the book. But your enthusiasm makes me wanna try audio books🙂

    • آمنة

      Glad you liked the blog, I haven’t publicized it and am leaving it for chances like this to get discovered.
      I thought you would have seen this post right after I posted it from the link in twitter. It was written from the heart.
      We both should work more to see each other more often, I know I became occupied with a new life style but hope I wont be drowned in it and will keep in touch with great friends.. What happened to our mutual friend open invitation, we should move that forward 🙂

Leave a Reply

